Family Shoot

jason lavery: birth story

Where do I even begin to express the beauty of experiencing a birth?  I always thought that the moment a mom and dad see their little one for the first time would be the most beautiful of all, but what about the strength of a mother in labor? Or the watery eyes of a father holding his son in the quiet moments after the nurses have left.  My great friends, Kevin and Audra, blessed me.  They blessed me beyond anything I could have ever expected.  They invited me to share the most special hours a couple will ever experience together: they asked me to photograph the birth of their first child.

Jason Andrew Lavery was born on 1.4.14, at 5:41 a.m (lots of 1’s and 4’s!).  His mama was a champ.  I have never seen a woman in labor before, (aside from health class in 5th grade, so that doesn’t count)  and Audra was incredible.  If there was ever proof of the strength of a woman, it’s in childbirth.  I expected screaming and yelling and all sorts of horrible things.  Instead I found calm, patient, quiet, loving, and soft.  (I’m not sure if Audra would say this is how she felt, but this is what she showed me.)

I was terrified when I walked in the room.  I was afraid I would be in the way, and that I wouldn’t be able to get the shots they needed.  But as soon as I stepped inside, I felt welcome.  It was definitely a bustle of activity; nurses coming in and out, people helping Audra breathe through contractions, machines being moved in every direction, but no one minded that I was there.  I just made my way to a corner of the room, took a quick breath, and started photographing this new life.  With Audra’s permission, I wanted to share some of the things I saw that early, early morning.  It was just captivating.  I had to wipe tears from my eyes every two seconds so I could see through my lens, and then again as I edited each photo the next day.  So I hope you enjoy the moments when this precious baby boy entered the world…I know I did.  Love you Kevin and Audra (and baby Jason), thank you for letting me be a part of this.DSC_0016 DSC_0037 DSC_0069-2 DSC_0161 DSC_0183 DSC_0275-2 DSC_0284 DSC_0316

DSC_0209 DSC_0331 DSC_0336 DSC_0384 DSC_0392 DSC_0395 DSC_0397 DSC_0410 DSC_0419 DSC_0433 DSC_0439 DSC_0452 DSC_0497 DSC_0518 DSC_0529 DSC_0536 DSC_0544 DSC_0572 DSC_0605 DSC_0702 DSC_0697copy DSC_0713 DSC_0730 DSC_0808 DSC_0880 DSC_0948 DSC_0949 DSC_0950 DSC_0956 DSC_0961

e.k.r.

2014 All Images Copyright of emily kay photography  (Modern Mildred Design LLC)

DO NOT COPY (thanks 🙂 )

Standard

Leave a Reply

