Personal

come on in: a tour of (part of) our first home

I’ve been thinking about the direction of this blog, and as much as I LOVE posting my “work photography,” I think it’d be great to post some personal stuff as well.  Well, I just cleaned the house yesterday, and finally finished a few projects I’ve been working on (like actually hanging up some pictures) so what better time to show you guys the makings of our first home!

My husband and I lived in an apartment for a whole three months before we decided “shoot, let’s just buy a whole house!” So we found one, and better yet it’s across the street from some really fantastic friends.

I love this place.  I’m so glad we decided to buy because being able to do whatever I want, wherever I want, is pretty fantastic.  Oh, spilled something on the carpet?  At least we don’t have to pay a fee!  Sick of that wall?  Yea, we’re planning on knocking it down like, asap.  How ’bout some new floors?  Done.  The linoleum we thought was cream was actually once white, so thank goodness we covered that crap up with some nice wood floors!

It’s really great.

So to start, I’ll let you see my living/dining room!  (They’re basically the same room..that’s just the way it goes in a small house, you know.)  You can’t see any of the other rooms yet, they aren’t finished..but maybe someday! Says every home owner who never actually finishes said rooms.
But first, I’ll show you the “before’s” from the previous owners, just so you can get an idea of what we’ve done to the place so far!

picture-uh=aa583c12b7e1c9d926fc203610b0f9d-ps=4b3d96c5c14bf455ec9812f8dfbcad1 IS99l3r9j2bv9q0000000000 IS13jr83fu2y9q0000000000
It was a little bright for our taste..so we painted everything.  So worth the difference! It looks like a completely different house.

DSC_0255DSC_0923 DSC_0275 DSC_0246I made a banner for our fireplace out of some old post cards written to my great grandmother.  I was excited to finally make use of them since they were just sitting in a box for the longest time!  I love putting those personal touches around the home; I think it makes everything seem a little more unique.

DSC_0261DSC_0919

This is our Rue baby.  She’s a six month old lab puppy and a little devil at 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.  She loves paper, pens, sunglasses, and shoes…  but we have no clue what we’d do without her.

DSC_0913 DSC_0914 DSC_0915DSC_0263

Chalkboards.  Can’t get enough of ’em.

Hopefully something here made you feel at home!

Now, let’s just hope I can keep it this clean for over two days…

e.r.

Standard

Leave a comment